Who are we?
The United Reformed Church
The United Reformed Church was founded in 1972 being an amalgamation of most of the Congregational and Presbyterian Churches in England and Wales. This church was enlarged in 1980 when Churches of Christ joined this young denomination.
Bath Central United Reformed Church seeks to...
- serve the spiritual and religious needs of the community
- provide pastoral care and friendship
- explore issues of faith, peace and justice.
History of Central URC
Bath Central United Reformed Church came into being in 1981 when two existing United Reformed Churches merged. These were Argyle URC, previously Argyle Congregational Church, and Trinity URC, previously Trinity Presbyterian Church. The new merged church used the Argyle Church premises while Trinity's historical Countess of Huntingdon's Chapel was sold.
The Buildings of Central
The first service at the Argyle Street Chapel took place on 4th October 1789. The original building only had a back gallery, the side galleries being installed in 1793 and the organ gallery in 1804. In 1862 the original flat ceiling was removed so as to improve light and ventilation. The exposed beams being a most attractive feature today.
Activites at Central URC
The church hosts a range of activities and interest groups.
Of particular note are two societies - The Argyle Players (a drama group) and The Argyle String Orchestra. These groups are always pleased to have new participants. If you are interested please email.
The extensive church halls are used by a large number of community groups.